Young Scientist Award


The Bureau of the BVS/ABR has decided to organize for the fourth time a national competition for Young Scientist Award, linked to the upcoming European IRPA conference to be held in The Hague in 2018:

In line with the IRPA international competition for young scientist, the requirements for participation in the Belgian competition are:

  • to be a member of the BVS/ABR or at least to be working in a Belgian institution/company in the domain of radiation protection 
  • to be active in radiation protection research since a few years but no more than 10 years; this includes that exceeding 30 years of age can only be accepted in exceptional cases
  • to be willing to represent the BVS/ABR at the European IRPA The Hague conference (4th to 8th June, 2018)


To participate, candidates must:

  • submit an abstract to the IRPA conference (see: Call for Papers: before 1 November 2017 with a copy of the abstract and a curriculum vitae;
  • be willing to provide extra information to the BVS/ABR committee that will judge the candidates (in the period of 1st November to 31 December)


What is included in the award?

  • an amount of €1000 that will be transferred to the candidate upon proof of participation to the European IRPA The Hague conference, including oral presentation at the dedicated session for young professionals.
  • A nomination to the IRPA 2018 Young Scientist Award (the IRPA award also contains remuneration).
  • an oral presentation at a scientific meeting of the BVS/ABR in 2018
  • a publication in the Annals of the BVS/ABR after the The Hague conference
  • a free membership to the BVS/ABR for 2018


Download (pdf) call Young Scientist Award. 




The third edition of the Young Scientist Award was organised linked to the European IRPA conference of 2014 in Geneva. Lieven Vervecken won the second price for his presentation "Dynamic external dose assessment by LES modelling of radioactive pollutant dispersion over an open field". He has presented his work at the BVS-ABR Young Generation Scientific Meeting on 19 September 2014.